Course Options

Texas License to Carry a Handgun

A first time LTC applicant must complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting). All classroom and proficiency must be conducted by a Texas LTC instructor certified by DPS. There are four (4) required topics:

 

  • Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force.
  • Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns.
  • Non-violent dispute resolution.
  • Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.

While handgun use is a topic covered in class, there is no time to practice shooting nor is there time for personal instruction on the range. Each participant must already know how to use a handgun in regards to loading a magazine, making a firearm readily dischargeable, aiming, shooting and clearing minor malfunctions. If you are insecure with your ability to perform these tasks, please look at training options listed below.

What to bring

Each participant will need

 

  • A handgun, either revolver or semi-automatic 
  • 50 rounds of ammunition for your firearm. No shotgun ammo, nothing smaller than .22.
  • Ear protection
  • Eye protection
  • Weather appropriate attire - range is outside

Handguns are available to rent. Please call to inquire.


Class cost is $100 and includes the range fee and a copy of the TX LTC Handbook.

Sign Up Now

Private Range Lesson

The lesson is on the range. Each shooter will bring their firearm and ammunition. Upon request instructor can bring a sampling of handguns to tryout. This option is good for those who have knowledge of handguns and some experience shooting but would like a few pointers on sharpening their skills.


$50 per hour. This is scheduled on a private basis for no more than two people.

Call Now! 806-420-0545

Beginner Pistol

Our class teaches the beginning basics for owning and operating a pistol. It is designed to provide a hands-on introduction to safe handling and proper orientation to handguns. This course is 2-3 hours long and includes classroom and range time. The course includes the use of a dozen handguns of varying calibers and brands. The ammunition and safety equipment are also included. 


Topics Include:

  • Shooting safety
  • Terminology and nomenclature
  • Shooting Fundamentals

The cost is $125 per person and is scheduled on a private basis.

Advanced Pistol

Our class teaches you how to carry on your person, draw from a holster, and practice through scenario training for active shooter situations. You must know shooting fundamentals and be comfortable loading and shooting your firearm for this class. This class is taught on the outdoor range so dress per the weather and be prepared to get dirty. Bring the firearm you would use for personal protection, a holster for said firearm, at least two magazines, and 300-500 rounds of ammunition, plus ear and eye protection. 


The cost is $125 per person and is scheduled on a private basis for no more than 4 people in a group.

NRA Classes

Personal Protection in the Home

This course teaches the basic knowledge, skills, and attitude essential to the safe and efficient use of a handgun for protection of self and family, and provides information on the law-abiding individual’s right to self-defense. 


$200 per person, 4 person minimum

Find out more

Home Firearm Safety

Non-shooting course that teaches students the basic knowledge and skills to explain the attitude necessary for the safe handling and storage of firearms/ammunition in the home. 4 hours. 


$50 per person, 4 person minimum

Eddie Eagle GunSafe for kids

The Eddie Eagle GunSafe® program is a gun accident prevention program that seeks to help parents, law enforcement, community groups and educators navigate a topic paramount to our children’s safety. Eddie and his Wing Team are on a mission to help you teach Pre-K through 4th graders what to do if they ever come across a gun.


Price based on number of students.

Range Safety Officer

Develops NRA Certified Range Safety Officers with the knowledge, skills, and attitude essential to organizing, conducting, and supervising safe shooting activities and range operations. 9 hours.


$75 per person, 4 person minimum

NRA Website

Refuse to Be A Victim

Teaches strategies people can integrate into their everyday lives to avoid becoming a victim of crime. This is not a firearms instruction course, and does not include instruction in physical combat self-defense. Seminars teach common weaknesses that criminals may take advantage of, and a variety of corrective measures that are practical, inexpensive and easy to follow. The seminar includes classroom instruction on criminal psychology, automobile crimes; cyber safety, home security, and a variety of crime prevention strategies including carjack avoidance techniques, use of personal safety devices, and more. 


Price based on number of students.